History of the VRWA

The Vermilion River Watershed Alliance (VRWA) was incorporated as a nonprofit society in 2015. The alliance is made up of local volunteers working side by side in the watershed. Our members come from local towns and counties, federal and provincial governments, conservation groups, and the general public. We are also partnered with the North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance (NSWA).

We are guided by the goals, directions, and actions of the 2012 VRWMP. This plan was designed with input from the public to define what the watershed means to those who live, work, and play here. We believe the watershed is the unit of management for human activities that affect the environment, including air, land, water, and wildlife. We will reach our vision of a healthy and sustainable watershed by completing this plan and balancing the social, economic, and environmental needs of the watershed community.

Our VISION: The Vermilion River Basin is a healthy and sustainable watershed.

Our MISSION: To support stakeholder engagement that fosters a collaborative approach working towards a sustainable watershed.

VRWA Goals

  1. Develop capacity and knowledge in the watershed
  2. Improve reliability of surface water supply
  3. Improve and maintain surface water quality
  4. Improve and maintain water ecosystem health
  5. Protect and sustain groundwater quality and supply

Our Logo

Set against a rolling hillside, the Vermilion River Watershed Alliance’s logo captures the meandering nature of the river as it flows through the landscape. The shades of blue and green represent the connection between the river, the land, and the transitional riparian zone.

The green shaded portion on the left of the logo represents the profile of a waterbird species, highlighting the importance of wildlife to the watershed.


Want to help us protect the watershed?

Board of Directors

  • Murray Phillips (President), County of Two Hills
  • Chris Elder (Vice President), Alternative Land Use Services
  • Nicole Nadorozny (Secretary & Treasurer), Lakeland College
  • Dave Berry (Past President), Town of Vegreville
  • Darren Bruhjell, Government of Canada
  • Rick Passek, Alberta Environment and Parks
  • Barry Bruce, Beaver County
  • Al Corbett, Alberta Drainage Council
  • Tim Knudson, Holden Drainage District
  • Kevin Bentley, County of Minburn
  • Daniel Warawa, Lamont County
  • Leslie Cusack, County of Vermilion River
  • Joshua Rayment, Town of Vermilion
  • Arnold Romaniuk, Town of Two Hills
  • Milt MacGregor, Holden
  • Carlin Soehn, Alberta Environment & Parks, Operations (advisory)
  • Ralph Boe, Agricultural seat
  • Bart Muusse, Ducks Unlimited Canada

Support Staff

  • Scott Millar, Executive Director, North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance
  • Rosey Radmanovich, Watershed Planning Coordinator: VRW Region, North Saskatchewan Watershed Alliance